Welcome to SGI South Africa

Soka Gakkai International South Africa is the lay Buddhist organisation for those practising the Buddhism of Nichiren Daishonin in South Africa and promoting humanism and dialogue for true peace.We have members across the country drawn from all of South Africa’s diverse communities. Most of our members are in Johannesburg, but there are also many in Cape Town and Durban; in Mpumalanga near Nelspruit and White River; and a very few in the Eastern Cape.

SGI, the “international value-creating society”, largest in Japan, has around 12 million members in 190 countries and territories practising in accord with local cultures with the aim of creating a better world by supporting each other in creating happier lives. You can watch a brief, three-minute video introduction to SGI here.

Our Buddhist practice

Through the process of individual “human revolution”  “ that is, changing ourselves first to create deep peace “ we build happiness, strengthen our ties with family and community, and work for justice.

Our straightforward and accessible practice is chanting Nam-myoho-renge-kyo twice daily, studying the Buddhist teachings, and taking compassionate action. There are no rules by which one must live; we decide for ourselves in our own time how best to create value. Our organisation is non-sexist, non-racist and non-homophobic.

For SGI members, Nichiren Buddhism is a practical philosophy of individual empowerment and inner transformation that enables people to develop themselves and take responsibility for their lives and their communities. The promotion of peace, culture and education is central to SGI activities, along with environmental concerns.

Our organisation

SGI has been active in South Africa since the early 1980s and was registered as a Section 21 company at the end of 2001. Its national headquarters are in Parkwood, Johannesburg.

SGI-SA’s membership is a true cross section of South Africa’s rainbow nation. All the country’s official languages are represented. Other members come from Japan, China, Taiwan, the United States, India, the Netherlands, Namibia, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Cote d’Ivoire, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Ghana, Cuba, India and the United Kingdom.